Three hundred years ago, in 1712, a band of farmers from the western part of Roxbury grew tired of the long trip to their parish church and petitioned the colonial government for permission to form a new parish closer to their homes. When their request was denied, they gathered a new congregation without permission, hired a minister, and built a simple church on Walter Street. Over time, our theology has evolved from its Puritan roots, emphasizing freedom to discover what is true and share with others in loving, diverse, and welcoming community.
Now located at the corner of Centre and Corey streets in the heart of West Roxbury, the congregation’s meetinghouse is distinguished through recognition by Boston Landmarks Commission and its seven extraordinary Tiffany stained glass windows.
We celebrated our 300th anniversary in 2012 with a series of public events.