Ministerial Transition

Rev. Phyllis O’Connell is completing her second year as interim minister at Theodore Parker Church while the church seeks a new permanent minister. Read more about Rev. O’Connell here.

Rev. Anne Bancroft is Unanimous Choice for Our Next Minister

ABancroftOn May 11, 2014, church members voted unanimously to call the Reverend Anne Bancroft to be our next settled minister. She will begin her ministry on Aug. 1.

“I’m excited to accept the call as minister to this energetic and vibrant community of seekers,” Rev. Bancroft said. “What a great future we have to look forward to together! I hope others consider this an invitation to come say hello, as well.”

Rev. Bancroft was ordained at the First Unitarian Society in Newton in March 2012. She has served most recently as consulting minister to the Unitarian Universalist Church of Weymouth, and previously was director of volunteer and congregational engagement at the Unitarian Universalist Urban Ministry in Roxbury.

“We are so grateful for Anne’s many skills and attributes,” said Joel Neiditz, chair of the Ministerial Search Committee. “She is wonderful in the pulpit, has great depth and breadth of knowledge about our faith, is familiar with key groups and trends in Unitarian Universalism, and has a coherent vision for our future. We are confident that under her leadership our community will grow and establish new connections with West Roxbury, Boston, and beyond.”

Prior to ordination, Rev. Bancroft served the First Unitarian Society in Newton as director of lifespan religious education, during which tenure she also served on a variety of Massachusetts Bay District organizations, and also as president of the continental Liberal Religious Educators Association. She has been an adjunct faculty member at Andover Newton Theological School, and also serves on the board of advisors for Skinner House Books.

Rev. Bancroft holds a bachelor’s degree in economics from Mount Holyoke College. She received a master’s degree in theological studies from Harvard Divinity School and completed further graduate work through Starr King School for the Ministry, Meadville Lombard Theological School, and Union Theological Seminary in New York City. Her studies and experience reflect a passion for learning and a deep appreciation for fellow seekers on the spiritual path.